Panic Attack

I am moving to the beautiful state of Hawaii! It’s probably the prettiest of all the states too. I couldn’t help but feel like I’m leaving the country though! How many states do we have that you can pack a bunch of beachwear and sunblock?  Hawaii felt so far and I was reminded how far it was when the flight attendance declared the time zone change.  Joe taps me on the shoulder and tells me we are passing Maui! Joe didn’t get much sleep and I was too anxious to get any real rest. I did love having a travel partner. It was great to slip my feet into Joe’s when I got cold or when I needed a shoulder to catch a quick nap, his was right there. He makes me smile. Everything about him is so refreshing. He’s kind, thoughtful and geniune. However he always seems worried though. I wonder what he fears or what he’s thinking sometimes. I on the other hand don’t hide my emotions well, not that I intended to but I would never want to make him worry intentionally.  I looked over and Joe points out Oahu. It was just as pretty as I last remembered when I was on the plane with Cat. I smiled and was excited to land. I really hate long flights. That feeling was quickly over when the flight attendance made an announcement to strap on our seatbelt because we would be landing very shortly.  As we were declining in elevation, Joe took my hand and kissed me. I smiled and squeeze his hand.  Ten, nine, eight…three, two, breathe… and we landed.

The door of the plane opened and a burst of warm air hits me. It felt warmer this time. Only minutes outside and I felt sticky. Joe grabs my hand and we moved through the crowd. We had a lot of luggage to pick up and my fingers were crossed hoping that it all landed safely. We stood by the baggage claim and since majority of my luggage was considered oversize, it didn’t take too long for me to collect everything. We then headed to the parking structure to find Joe’s truck. Joe effortlessly threw the luggage in the bed of his truck and off we went.

As soon as we got on the freeway, a burst of emotions hit me. I starred at the highway and just started to notice the kind of people that were around me. Then I noticed the cars, the homes and the street names. I felt sweaty and thoughts of my family and friends ran through my head and I immediately thought “what have I done!” Joe felt I was off and without saying much, he squeezed my hand and told me his loved me. I didn’t response so he asked me if everything was ok. I replied with a half smile and asked him to give me a few minutes. I needed to recollect my thoughts and more importantly I needed to breathe. Everything at that moment seem so chaotic. The freeway felt small, the air felt hot and nothing looked familiar. I didn’t want to stress Joe out but I couldn’t help but freak out. I was always thought I was adventurous but this really was taking it to a whole different level. I thought about how I left my parents, my siblings, my friends and my job!

To keep myself distracted and to not worry Joe, I talked about Tahoe.  I told him I loved him. I started talking about how we fell in love and asked him if he promised to be honest and faithful to me. He grinned and said ” I love you. I absolutely will be honest and faithful”. Just like that I smiled and I remembered why I decided to take this risk. Love is worth it.  Since my last relationships, I can honestly say that none of them were worth the risk, the heartache or the time. However I don’t regret any of it either. Those relationships made me wiser and more determine that I was close to finding my soul mate.  I can honestly say with Joe, that everything is worth the risk. You can’t pass up this kind of love. This kind of love only happens once in a lifetime and to walk away from it because of fear seems silly.  We got to North Shore and I immediately felt at ease.  Who would have thought the country would put me at ease. I looked to my left as we continued to Haleiwa, I knew everything would be awesome.

IMG_6988

IMG_8437

Next blog: First Adventure

Leave a comment