Let’s Party!

One thing I didn’t mention prior to this post was that I had planned all along to come to Hawaii. Joe has asked me at least a dozen times prior to the Tahoe trip about moving to Hawaii. Everytime he asked me, I would always say “maybe…” or “we’ll see…” However what he didn’t know was that I was figuring out how to move to Hawaii. I had to figure out work. I had to ask for a leave of absence which was granted. I then needed to figure out financially where I stood with my 401k and monthly income. I had to figure out where Aiko, my dog would stay while I was gone. I needed to figure out expenses I was responsible for on a monthly basis. Lastly, I had to figure out how to tell my parents and siblings. Telling my siblings was the hardest.

Originally, I was approved for a leave of absence, then my boss surprisingly pushed for me to just quit. My boss stated that it was for the better of the company because it’s not like I really planned to come back. If things didn’t work out in Hawaii, she stated I could just apply back when I was ready. Imagine that curve ball! I was so annoyed with the “better for the company” pitch.  I have dedicated 7 years and my boss couldn’t even give me 2 months to figure out my life.  However she was absolutely right abut me being able to apply back but the fact I was going to quit instead, OMG, my security blanket was taken from me!  I didn’t feel like arguing nor did I care at that point anymore so my leave of absence became me quitting. Prior to writing my resignation letter, I really had to think about what I was doing. Did I really want to give up my career for a guy? I pretty much had a panic attacked  which resulted me into talking it through with amazing friends. In the end, I was back on track…. follow my heart.

I officially wrote my letter of resignation and submitted it via email. That was a nerve racking moment because it became official!  So to add to my list of things to do was to worry about health care, eye and dental coverage.  That gave me more stress.

When Joe asked me again in Tahoe to move to Hawaii, instead of telling him maybe or we’ll see, I said yes. Then he asked me when would I move. I think he was expecting a date range on when I could make that happen, I said “I could move the first day of April.” He looked at me puzzled and said, “really?”. I told him that prior to this, I had been planning it all along to surprise him but I was waiting until Valentine’s day to share. However it would be cruel to not answer that day because he asked.  Joe was excited and couldn’t believe I was taking this plunge for him. I couldn’t believe so either but being with him in Tahoe confirmed how I felt.

Another curveball came but a good one. My boss told me she found my replacement and asked me if i wanted to leave 2 weeks ahead of schedule. I said yes. My last day of work was on March 14 and my last day with the company was March 31. I called Joe and said “Babe, do you want to see me 2 weeks earlier?” His response, “yeaaah.” So all I have to do now is pack and party until I move to Hawaii.

IMG_4090336339_10151026239419851_177286896_o IMG_6771 IMG_6736 IMG_6735 IMG_6214 IMG_6076 IMG_5866 IMG_5751 IMG_5745 IMG_3787 IMG_3726 IMG_3780

IMG_6053

IMG_1877 IMG_1861 IMG_0974 IMG_9987

Next Blog: Joe Comes Back

Leave a comment